Southword 40


Southword Editions, 2021, 118 pages
ISBN: 978-1-905002-88-7

Issue 40 includes new poetry by Alannah Hopkin, new non-fiction by Lucy Sweeney Byrne and the winners and shortlistees of the recent Seán O’Faoláin International Short Story Competition (judged by Billy O’Callaghan) and Gregory O’Donoghue International Poetry Competition (judged by Peter Sirr).



Lucy Sweeney Byrne, Niamh Mac Cabe, Conor McManus

Seán Ó Faoláin International Short Story Competition

1st Prize: Ben Fergusson

2nd Prize: LA Williams

Shortlist: Hilary Fennell, Erin Courtney Kelly, Niamh Mulvey, Mel O’Doherty

Gregory O’Donoghue International Poetry Competition

1st Prize: Nicholas Hogg

2nd Prize: Damen O’Brien

3rd Prize: Gerry Boland

Shortlist: A.M. Cousins, J.P. Grasser, Paula Harris, Winifred McNulty, karla k. morton, Judy O’Kane, Don Schofield, Joan Sullivan Gray, Matthew Thorburn, Arne Weingart


Breda Spaight, Rory Duffy, Lizzy Nichols, Bobbie Sparrow, Alan Garvey, Kathleen Winter, Brianna Flavin, Jane Burn, Laura Potts, Daniel Johnson, Hilary Menos, Phillip Crymble, Julio Cesar Diaz, Don Hogle, Danielle P. Williams, Mike Lewis-Beck

Subscriber Flash Fiction Competition

John D. Kelly, Alison McCrossan, Alannah Hopkin

Subscriber Poetry Competition

Moná Toirésa Ó Loideáin Rochelle, Heidi Beck, Ali Bracken Ziad

Cover Image

detail from Lilith by Rachel Parry