Munster Literature Centre
Ionad Litríochta an Deisceart

Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award

The Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award—named in honour of Frank O’Connor, who devoted much of his work to the form—was an international literary award presented for the best short story collection. It ran for 11 years (between 2005 and 2015) and worth €50,000 in its first year and later reduced to €25,000, was the biggest short-story collection prize in the world at the time. Each year, roughly sixty books were longlisted, with six books shortlisted, the ultimate decision made by three judges.

The award was established in 2005 in an effort to increase the profile of the short story form on the literary scene, and to reward those who were judged to have written the best collection of stories that year. Serving our ethos of innovation and development, The Munster Literature Centre aimed at bringing accomplished international writers in contact with new and emerging Irish short story writers.

Previous Winners

YearAccolade Author Title
2015WinnerCarys DaviesThe Redemption of Galen Pike
ShortlistKaren E. Bender
Tony Earley
Kirsty Gunn
Thomas McGuane
Alejandro Zambra
Mr. Tall
Crow Fair
My Documents
2014WinnerColin BarrettYoung Skins
ShortlistA.L. Kennedy
Phil Klay
Ben Marcus
Lorrie Moore
Laura Van Den Berg
All the Rage
Leaving the Sea
The Isle of Youth
2013WinnerDavid ConstantineTea at the Midland and Other Stories
ShortlistTamas Dobozy
Deborah Levy
Joyce Carol Oates
Peter Stamm
Claire Vaye Watkins
Siege 13
Black Vodka
Black Dahlia & White Rose
We’re Flying
2012WinnerNathan EnglanderWhat We Talk About When We Talk About Anne Frank
ShortlistKevin Barry
Sarah Hall
Etgar Keret
Fiona Kidman
Lucia Perillo
Dark Lies the Island
The Beautiful Indifference
Suddenly a Knock on the Door
The Trouble with Fire
Happiness is a Chemical in the Brain
2011WinnerEdna O’BrienSaints & Sinners
ShortlistYiyun Li
Alexander MacLeod
Suzanne Rivecca
Colm Tóibín
Valerie Trueblood
Gold Boy, Emerald Girl
Light Lifting
Death is Not an Option
The Empty Family
Marry or Burn
2010WinnerRon RashBurning Bright
ShortlistBelle Boggs
T.C. Boyle
Robin Black
David Constantine
Laura Van Den Berg
Mattaponi Queen
Wild Child
If I Loved You, I Would Tell You This
The Shielding
What the World Will Look Like When All the Water Leaves Us
2009WinnerSimon Van BooyLove Begins in Winter
ShortlistPetina Gappah
Charlotte Grimshaw
Shih-Li Kow
Philip Ó Ceallaigh
Wells Tower
An Elegy for Easterly
Ripples and Other Stories
The Pleasant Light of Day
Everything Ravaged, Everything Burned
2008WinnerJhumpa LahiriUnaccustomed Earth
2007WinnerMiranda JulyNo One Belongs Here More Than You
ShortlistCharlotte Grimshaw
Etgar Keret
Manuel Muñoz
Olaf Olafsson
Simon Robson
Missing Kissinger
The Faith Healer of Olive Avenue
The Separate Heart
2006WinnerHaruki MurakamiBlind Willow, Sleeping Woman
ShortlistPhilip Ó Ceallaigh
Rachel Sherman
Peter Stamm
Rose Tremain
Samrat Upadhyay
Notes from a Turkish Whorehouse
The First Hurt
In the Strange Gardens
The Darkness of Wallis Simpson
The Royal Ghosts
2005WinnerYiyun LiA Thousand Years of Good Prayers
ShortlistDavid Bezmozig
Alice Hoffman
Bret Anthony Johnston
David Means
Tim Winton
Natasha and Other Stories
Blackbird House
Corpus Christi
The Secret Goldfish
The Turning