Munster Literature Centre
Ionad Litríochta an Deisceart

Frank O’Connor International Short Story Fellowship

The fellowship is made possible through the very generous sponsorship of Cork City Council. The fellowship follows on from the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award and further demonstrates the commitment of the Munster Literature Centre and Cork City Council to the short story community. Named for one of Cork’s most renowned writers, it acknowledges the special place the short story form occupies in the cultural history and contemporary practice of the city.

Benefits of the fellowship

The successful fellow benefits from the prestige of receiving a highly competitive international literary award which will not only allow the candidate to spend time concentrating on their own work, but also to acquire more experience in the delivery of workshops and seminars. The successful fellow also receives a stipend of €8000, in four monthly instalments of €2000.

Duties of the fellowship

The fellowship requires the writer to be available in Cork city for certain responsibilities such as readings, seminars and workshops and to find time to work on their own writing. Details of these duties are updated year to year.

Previous Fellows

Tina Pisco
2021 Frank O’Connor Fellow

Alannah Hopkin
2020 Frank O’Connor Fellow

Sara Maitland
2019 Frank O’Connor Fellow

Carys Davies
2018 Frank O’Connor Fellow

Marie-Helene Bertino
2017 Frank O’Connor Fellow

Zsuzsi Gartner
2016 Frank O’Connor