Southword 42


Southword Editions, 2022, 97 pages
ISBN: 978-1-905002-97-9

Southword 42 includes new poetry by Wes Lee, a photo-essay by John Minihan and the winners and shortlistees of the recent Seán O’Faoláin International Short Story Competition (judged by Simon Van Booy) and Gregory O’Donoghue International Poetry Competition (judged by Thomas McCarthy).


Seán Ó Faoláin International Short Story Competition

1st Prize: Shelley Hastings

2nd Prize: Neil Cawley, Jay Kelly (shared)

Shortlist: Patrick Key, Thomas Lawrance, Kate Norris, Eimear O’Callaghan

Gregory O’Donoghue International Poetry Competition

1st Prize: Timothy McBride

2nd Prize: James Finnegan

3rd Prize: Seán Hickey

Shortlist: Mara Adamitz Scrupe, Kim Curts Mattheussens, Frank Farrelly, Peggy McCarthy, Jim McElroy, Jamie O’Halloran, Ava Patel, Andrea Ward, Sarah Wright, Enda Wyley


Griffin Epstein, Jodie Hollander, Wes Lee, Alison McCrossan, Niamh Prior, Gerard Smyth, Breda Spaight

Subscriber Flash Fiction Competition

Róisín Leggett Bohan, Mattie Brennan, Garret Dwyer Joyce

Subscriber Poetry Competition

Audrey Molloy, Mark Corcoran, Daniel Johnson

Photo Essay

John Minihan

Cover Image

‘Oileán’ (‘Island’) by Peadar Lamb